Swarthmore has had Lynda.com as an additional video learning resource available to all students, faculty, and staff. Recently, that same service was purchased by LinkedIn and became LinkedIn Learning. All of the same video content is available, and there are now even more videos to choose from.
Here is what the change to LinkedIn Learning means:
- You will now be able to access all videos at linkedin.swarthmore.edu
- On your initial login you will be asked if you want to link your personal LinkedIn account to your Learning account
- If you choose to link your accounts, you will be able to save any certificates you earn through LinkedIn Learning and take them with you beyond your time here at Swarthmore
You do not have to link your accounts. If you choose not to and have not used our video learning service before, you will be asked to fill out some basic profile information to help LinkedIn Learning tailor your experience. If you have used the service before, all of your previous profile settings and saved videos and playlists will be set for you. If you do decide to link your accounts, basic information will be pulled from your LinkedIn account to set up your Learning profile.
So, what does Swarthmore see if you link your accounts?
- Basic profile information: Your name, job title, email address, skills/interests
- Your video learning history with LinkedIn Learning (Swarthmore will see this history regardless of whether you link your accounts)
And that’s it! Swarthmore does not see any other personal information or account usage for your personal LinkedIn account. You can also check out LinkedIn’s documentation on what information can be seen by who. If you change your mind later, you can link or unlink your accounts by contacting LinkedIn support. For more information see LinkedIn’s documentation on unlinking your accounts.
You can find more information about logging in to LinkedIn Learning for the first time, and other helpful information by checking out our LinkedIn Learning Documentation.