2008 National Collegiate Badminton Championships



Participating Teams

- * Albright
- * Bryn Mawr
- * College of DuPage
- * Cornell
- * Drexel
- * Princeton
- * Stanford
- * Swarthmore
- * University of California-Berkeley
- * University of California-Irvine
- * University of California-San Diego
- * University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- * University of Maryland College Park
- * University of Virginia
- * University of Wisconsin-Madison

Tarble Pavilion & Lamb-Miller Field House

Swarthmore College Swarthmore, PA

March 21-23, 2008

2008

Tournament Schedule

Friday, March 21

6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 22

8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Coaches'/Captains' Briefing Matches (thru Quarterfinals)

Practice Session

Sunday, March 23

9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. 6:30 p.m.

Semifinal / Finals Matches Awards Ceremony

History of Badminton at Swarthmore:

Badminton began at Swarthmore as a varsity sport in 1938...the 1938 season consisted of a single match against Ursinus...the Garnet had 12 consecutive undefeated seasons until 1952...only two losing seasons in forty years...Eleanor "Pete" Hess was the most successful coach, directing Swarthmore for 22 years with just two losing seasons...won the 1989 PAIAW championship with 28 points — recently won three straight PA State

PAIAW championship with 28 points ... recently won three straight PA State Championships.

Welcome Address

March 21, 2008

On behalf of the entire Swarthmore College community, it is my pleasure to welcome you to campus for the 2008 National Collegiate Badminton Championship. Participants this weekend offer each other a special opportunity for competition and camaraderie, resulting in what is always an exciting tournament.

The tradition and history of the Badminton Championships is one that is long and proud. For some, this weekend will pit rivals against each other for the final time. For others it will mark their first badminton experience. For all of us, it promises to be another exciting and memorable tournament.

Please join me in recognizing and supporting all of the athletes during this weekend, helping to ensure a memorable experience as we watch the present, remember the past, and look to the future of collegiate badminton.

Sincerely, Adam Hertz Marian Ware Director of Athletics

Championship Staff

Directors: Bhavin Parikh Jeremy Loomis

> *Referee*: Lily Lai

Site Administrator : Christyn Chambers

Sports Information Contact: Kyle C. Leach

2007 Championship Results

at Univ. of California at Berkeley

Team Championship

UC-Irvine (67) Champion

UC-Berkeley (61) Runner-Up

Men's Singles Ziewei Qin (Ohlone) Champion

Nick Jinadasa (UC-Irvine) Runner-Up

Women's Singles Lauren Todt (UC-Santa Cruz)

Daphne Ng (UC-Berkeley)

Men's Doubles Daniel Gouw (Santa Clara)/Brandon Taft (CSU Fullerton)

Hao Jin / Ziwei Qin (Ohlone)

Women's Doubles Hanae Fujinami / Daphne Ng (UC-Berkeley)

Grace Cheung / Samantha Jinadasa

(UC-San Diego)

Mixed Doubles

Nick Jinadasa / Alice Wen (UC-Irvine)

Ziewi Qin (Ohlone) / Daphne Ng (UC-Berkeley)

Championship Format

Champion and Runner-Up awarded for Men's and Women's competition in the following divisions:

Men's Singles, Women's Singles, Men's Doubles, Women's Doubles, Mixed Doubles

• Players losing first match are eligible for consolation bracket. Players receiving a bye in first match and lose second match, are eligible for consolation bracket.

Champion to be awarded for Men's and Women's team competition

- Two (2) team points awarded for each match won in the main draw. A player or team receiving a first-match by will be awarded four (4) points if the next match is won, and no points if the next match is lost. Defaults after the first match will be treated as a match played (two (2) points awarded to the winner). Players reaching the semi-finals receive a bonus (1) point. Players reaching the finals receive a bonus of one (1) point. Winners of the finals receive a bonus (1) point.
- Half (1/2) point will be awarded for each match won. A player or team receiving a first match by will be awarded one (1) point if the next match is won and no points if the match is lost. Defaults after the first match will be treated as a match played (one-half (1/2) point will be awarded to the winner). Players who reach the finals receive a bonus of one (1) point. Winners of finals receive a bonus (1) point.
- Points accumulated for men's and women's teams separately. Points earned for mixed doubles will be split between the players of each pair, accumulated into each player's respective men's and women's teams. The men's and women's team with the most points accumulated at the completion of the tournament will be named Men's and Women's Team Champion.

Match Format

- Matches are best-of-three with rally-scoring to 21 points, winning by two
- Tournament officials reserve right to change consolation matches to one game, first to 21 points, if necessary

Entrant Procedures

- Strict 15-minute default rule applies
- Players need to check out at the tournament desk, located in Tarble Gymnasium, before leaving for lunch
- Upon return, players should check in at the tournament desk
- Players retain the right to request an umpire and/or line judges